2 Sentence Review: number9dream by David Mitchell (novel)

July 14, 2010

At the Free Library of Philadelphia, David Mitchell told audience members that he is proud of his books in reverse order of publication – e.g., The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (2010), then Black Swan Green (2007), then Cloud Altas (2004) – except Ghostwritten (2001), his first novel, would probably come before his second novel, number9dream (2003).

I’d agree that number9dream falls short of his other works, but not without pointing out that the first 100 pages may be some of the best he has ever written and fully captured the imagination.

TwitterFacebookDeliciousDiggGoogle ReaderGoogle GmailGoogle BookmarksFriendFeedLinkedInMySpaceStumbleUponYahoo MailPosterousTechnorati FavoritesAIMBlogger PostShare

Tags: , , ,

Shop Fan Follow Contact Subscribe


Leave a Reply

Submit Your 2SR!